22 August 2006

Fields Medal

Via Scott Aaronson, the winners of the Fields Medal are Andrei Okounkov, Grigory Perelman, Terence Tao and Wendelin Werner. The Nevanlinna Prize goes to Jon Kleinberg and the Gauss Prize to Kiyoshi Itô. The press release can be found here. It seems that Perelman declined the prize. There is an article in the Telegraph and in BBC News claiming that he can not afford the trip to collect the award. Peter Woit has some references to the works done by the winners. Lubos also has a post.


walt said...

Did you see that the New Yorker quoted you? See here.

Victor Rivelles said...

Thanks Walt, I had seen it some days after it was published.